John Tate wins the Abel Prize 2010

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (no votes yet)


The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters has decided to award the Abel Prize for 2010 to
John Torrence Tate
at the University of Texas at (Austin) for his work on the theory of numbers (which includes the mysteries surrounding prime numbers).

For the past six decades, Tate has been a leader in this area with many landmark results named for him, including, the Tate module, Tate cycle, Serre-Tate parameter, Tate trace, Tate curve, Hodge-Tate decompositions…

The Abel Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to the mathematical sciences and has been awarded annually since 2003. It carries a huge cash award of approximately $1,000,000 US.

Previous winners are:
2003: Jean-Pierre Serre
2004: Sir Michael Francis Atiyah and Isadore M. Singer
2005: Peter D. Lax
2006: Lennart Carleson
2007: Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan
2008: John Griggs Thompson and Jacques Tits
2009: Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov